Processing the Safari Photos

So, now that I am back home the process of sorting and printing my photos begins. It didn’t start off well.  I have switched to a Mac with OS X Leopard and it seems that my current printer, HP 7550, is not supported.  I found some help on the forums but none of the suggested fixes worked.   I’ve been wanting to upgrade my printer for awhile so now seems like the time.   I thought I would just be able to go to Circuit City or Best Buy and plunk down my $ but it seems those stores don’t carry the higher end printers.   So, I ordered the HP 8850 from Amazon.  You might wonder why I would order another HP since they didn’t do a good job supporting my old printer on Mac but I have been an HP user for many years ( I used to write Lotus 1-2-3 printer drivers for HP printers before Windows) and I still don’t trust Epsons not to clog.  Canon also gets high marks but I just took the easy route and stuck with HP.

While I wait for my new printer, I decided to use my husband’s HP Photosmart 8250 printer so I could at least print some photos to show.  After downloading the 91MB driver and software I was finally ready to print.  And then my color problems started.   I never had much problem matching colors from my screen to my printer but suddenly all of the colors are off – VERY FRUSTRATING!  I don’t know if it is the change to the Mac and/or and LCD screen from a CRT.   I’ve also been meaning to order a color calibration unit so that was added to the Amazon order as well – this vacation is getting more expensive AFTER it is over!

So, I am anxiously awaiting my new hardware so I can start processing my 41gb of photos!   I’ve used Photoshop for many years but haven’t done much in the last year so I’m in the process of relearning.  I recently upgraded from CS to CS3 and there are plenty of new things to learn.  I bought Scott Kelby’s Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Digital Photographers book (THAT I could by locally in a bookstore 🙂 and am finding it very helpful and certainly worth the price!

~ by Becka11y on August 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
